Monument Valley – June 16

I was in Monument Valley, when I received this email. It talks about yesterday at Vail Rocks, and why Love Hope Strength exists. I feel humbled to be among people like the McGinty’s.

Vail Rocks 2013 was the first time my wife and I participated in a Love Hope Strength fundraising event.

We learned about the Love Hope Strength Foundation and it’s efforts through the Big Country website.  When Mike Peters put out the call for Big Country fans to join him on his first Love Hope Strength hike on American soil, we decided to answer the call by registering for the hike and trying to raise what  little money we could to help.  And because of Love Hope Strength volunteers at the Big Country concert in Denver, I am now on the bone marrow donor list.

Although my wife and I are fortunate enough to be free of cancer, my wife’s mother is currently battling liver cancer.  She is doing well thanks to her excellent doctors in Salt Lake City.  But the feeling we had of not being able to do anything was upsetting.  Through Vail Rocks 2013, we felt that we could do something.  We wrote my wife’s mother’s name on the prayer flags we received, tied the flags to our backpacks, and kept her in our thoughts as we hiked Vail Mountain.  My wife also wore her mother’s bracelet, which her mother had sent to us for us to carry up the mountain.  The bracelet was something tangible that made it up the mountain and will be sent back to my wife’s mother.

My wife and I thought that everyone at Love Hope Strength did an incredible  job organizing and executing Vail Rocks 2013.  Our only regret was that, due to schedule conflicts, we were unable to attend everything such as the welcome reception and post-hike concert.

I have attached a photo, taken just before the hike, of my wife and I with Mike Peters.  If it is possible, I would greatly appreciate it if you could forward the photo to Mike, who inspires not only with his music but with who he is as a person.

It was an honor for us to participate in Vail Rocks 2013, and we look forward to seeing everyone again next year.  Sincerely, Craig McGinty. Colorado Springs, CO”

IMG_561712

Big Country Tour Dates 

Be a Donor-Get On The List! Campaign 

Love Hope Strength 

The Alarm Official Web site 

Love Hope Strength Video Trailer See the video here

Mike Peters appears at House of Commons for Marrow Drive to Celebrate Parliament Increasing Eligibility Requirements of Donors in the UK from 17-30 to 17-55 years of age BBC News

Follow us on Twitter: @LHSF
Leave a Reply

